Chairman Wm. Weston J. Newton

First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Nathan Ballentine Gary E. Clary Kirkman Finlay III Joseph H. Jefferson Jr. Walton J. McLeod Joshua Putnam Samuel Rivers Jr. Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor Legislative Oversight Committee



William K. (Bill) Bowers Raye Felder Phyllis J. Henderson Mia S. McLeod Ralph W. Norman Robert L. Ridgeway III James E. Smith Jr. Edward R. Tallon Sr. Robert O. Williams

South Carolina House of Representatives

Charles L. Appleby IV Legal Counsel

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811 Room 228 Blatt Building

August 13, 2015

Chairman Jim Rozier Commission of the South Carolina Department of Transportation Post Office Box 191 Columbia, South Carolina 29201 - 3959

Dear Chairman Rozier:

On behalf of the entire Economic Development, Transportation, Natural Resources and Regulatory Subcommittee, I would like to thank you, your fellow Commissioners, your Chief Internal Auditor, Acting Secretary Hall and the Department of Transportation staff for sharing their time and knowledge with this subcommittee during our recent meeting.

During the August 13, 2015, meeting, the Commission and Department offered to provide the following additional information:

- Current scope for the Management Consultant the Department is seeking to hire;
- Scope, and any related documentation, for Management Consultants hired by Departments of Transportation in other states which the Department is using as a reference when creating the scope for the Management Consultant it is seeking to hire (i.e. Georgia, etc.);
- Outsourcing audit the Commission determined was not worthy of publication;
- Log of calls made to the Department hotline two years prior to the log being transferred to the Inspector General and from the date it was transferred to the Inspector General to the present; and
- Statement of new policy regarding advertisements for work with DOT once finalized and approved by the Commission.

We appreciate your team following up on these issues and providing the information. We also appreciate the agency's continued cooperation during the legislative oversight process.

Sincerely,



Phyllis J. Henderson Subcommittee Chair

cc: The Honorable Wm. Weston J. Newton The Honorable Ralph W. Norman The Honorable Robert L. Ridgeway III The Honorable Samuel Rivers Jr. Commissioner Mike Wooten Commissioner John Hardee Secretary Christy Hall Chief Internal Auditor Paul Townes